Monday, October 7, 2013

Moirai by Ruth Silver: Interview and Review


Who are your books published with?

The eBooks for the Aberrant series are published with Lazy Day Publishing. The print version is published by Patchwork Press. I often get the question of why I have two distinctive covers for the same series, and it's because there are two publishers. 

What book are you reading now?

Right now I'm reading A Chosen Destiny by Stephanie Karpinske. I love Young Adult novels, especially ones with science fiction, dytopian or fantasy elements mixed into the story. A Chosen Destiny is the third book in The Samantha Project series and so far it's been amazing! 

As a child, what did you want to be when you grew up?

I wanted to be a tornado chaser. When I was in the seventh grade, the film Twister came out and I wanted that job! It seemed like tons of fun. 

Right now my favorite show is Orphan Black. My aunt introduced me to the series and after watching the first episode, I had to watch the rest of the episodes from season one. I'm also a huge fan of J.J. Abrams and like the show Revolution. 

What hobbies do you actively pursue?

I enjoy reading Young Adult novels and running a book blog. The time I don't spend writing, I spend on social media, obsessing over some of my favorite things and maintaining my book blog. I'm such a fan girl! 

Do you have any suggestions for beginning writers? If so, what are they?

Don't be afraid to ask for feedback. Having a beta reader can help transform your story into something better. It doesn't matter if you're a fan fiction writer, role playing, or penning your own novel - constructive criticism can help you grow as a writer.

ebook cover
Title: Moirai (Aberrant #2)

Author: Ruth Silver

Published: September 26, 2013

Publisher: LazyDay Publishing (eBook) & Patchwork Press (print)

Genre: YA, Dystopian, Sci-Fi



Olivia has been on the run from the government of Cabal since the marriage ceremony. Finally settling in and finding herself a place to call home in Shadow, Olivia and Joshua prepare for the uprising that they and the rebel alliance have been planning for months.

With new abilities and special talents from Mindonsiphan, Olivia learns she can do more than most ordinary eighteen year olds. Learning both to hide and perfect her skills will be one of the biggest challenges she’ll be forced to face.

A constant rollercoaster of emotion and adventure await Olivia and Joshua as they embark on a journey to the rebel city of Torv, and what was once home, Genesis.
Print cover

 Add to Goodreads

Available for purchase on:

4 Stars 
Moirai picks up close to when Aberrant ended.  If you have not read Aberrant I recommend reading it first as it sets the stage for much of what later transpires in Moirai. Moirai can be read alone but some of the nuance and motivating factors may be lost. Both books are so exciting and easy to get lost in that it really is worthwhile to read them in order. 
When Moirai opens, I did not like the shouting, pounding, and unruly temper that seems to overwhelm Olivia.  Once she calmed down and the first mission got underway she became more like the character I remembered from Aberrant – driven, astute, and free-thinking.  I love the special connection she shares with Joshua, and I really hope their chemistry continues to unfold.  Olivia and Joshua are best at persuading others, and I would like to see their talents expand even more in the following escapades. 
With major unrest and the political uncertainty constant companions, Olivia and Joshua have become icons to many in their dystopian society.  They have also become the foremost enemies of those who wish to maintain the status quo.  I am eager to find out what will happen next and what trouble this fiercely independent pair will have to face.
This book was provided to me by the author in exchange for my honest review. 
Reviewed by Laurie-J 

Title: Aberrant (Aberrant #1)
Author: Ruth Silver
Published: April 17, 2013
Publisher: LazyDay Publishing (eBook) & Patchwork Press (print)
Genre: YA, Sci-Fi, Dystopian
In the future dystopian society of Cabal, the government instills equality for all and offers its citizens the perfect system. There is food, shelter and jobs for everyone. The one requirement is to follow the rules without question, including the government's match in marriage and "The Day of the Chosen", a lottery that randomly selects families to conceive children as natural means hasn't existed in generations. Following her eighteenth birthday, Olivia Parker accepts her requirement to marry her childhood best friend, Joshua Warren, and is eager to start her work assignment and new life when it all comes abruptly to an end as she's arrested and thrown in prison. The only crime committed, her existence.
Olivia is unlike the rest of the world born not from "The Day of the Chosen." The truth haunts the government and puts her life in grave danger as one simple fact would destroy the perfect system. With Joshua's help, Olivia breaks free of prison and is forced on the run. Together they set out to find the promised rebel town in search of a new home and new life together. Their situation seems less than promising as they reach the town of Haven. New rules and customs must be adhered to in order to stay. Leaving would mean most certain death in the large expanse of the Gravelands. Time is running out as the government mounts an attack to destroy Olivia and bury her secret with her. Thrown into a world unlike their own, they must quickly adapt to survive.

Ruth Silver attended Northern Illinois University and graduated with a Bachelor's in Communication in the spring of 2005.  While in college, she spent much of her free time writing with friends she met online and penning her first novel, Deuces are Wild, which she self-published in 2004.

Silver enjoys reading, photography, traveling and most of all writing.  She loves dystopian and fantasy young adult stories.  She currently resides in Plainfield, Illinois.

You can visit her online at



No comments: