Tuesday, May 15, 2018

Of Blood and Ashes by Kyoko M








Of Blood and Ashes
Of Cinder and Bone Book 2
by Kyoko M
Genre: SciFi Fantasy Romance


The world's deadliest dragon, the infamous Baba Yaga, is loose on the streets of Tokyo. 
Dr. Rhett "Jack" Jackson and Dr. Kamala Anjali have been tasked with helping the government take down a dragon the size of a Tyrannosaurus Rex after it sends part of the city up in flames. Things worsen when they lose track of dragon in none other than Aokigahara, the Suicide Forest--a section of woods in Japan that is rumored to be one of the most haunted places on earth. They've also got the yakuza who cloned the dragon hellbent on getting her back, and they don't care who they kill in order to re-capture the dragon. 


Jack and Kamala are joined by CIA field agent William Fry and dragon-hunting expert Juniper Snow as they infiltrate the forest to hunt the dragon before she can hurt anyone else. Between the ruthless yakuza hot on their trail and the growing mistrust in their small hunting party, it will take a miracle for Jack and Kamala to make it out alive...

Of Blood and Ashes is the second book in the series, following the Amazon bestselling Of Cinder and Bone.



Goodreads * Amazon





"Are you alone?" she asked the merc.
The man didn't say anything. "No one is going to come find you if we shoot out your remaining kneecap and leave you to die in this forest. Answer the question."
Snow swung the barrel towards the leg he wasn't clutching. "Fine. Enjoy bleeding to death."
She fired the rifle.
"Two men!" he blurted out before he could help himself. "Closing in from the rear."
He frowned, realizing she'd shot the ground a mere inch from his leg, and muttered, "Goddammit" under his breath in resignation.
"Lovely. Thank you for your cooperation." She slammed the butt of the gun into his forehead and he flopped backwards unconscious. She knelt and handed the rifle back to Jack.
"Watch our six. I'll see if he's got anythin' useful." She checked the mercenary's pockets, finding extra ammo, a map, and a burner phone. He had a link in his ear as well, which she took and placed in her own. She stood and unfolded the map, checking the marked locations on it.
"There are two sites marked here," Snow said. "One is the campsite I saw. The other...it's heading back towards the city."
"You think that might be where they'd hide the dragon if they got it?"
"Possibly."
"Then we'd better get back to the forest entrance on double-time. We have to warn our guys."
"I'm sure they already know," Snow said, tucking the map into her pocket and then taking the gun back. "Fry's not stupid."
"No," Jack agreed, falling in step behind her once again. "Cold and calculating, but not stupid."
"Not everyone can be as warm and fuzzy and useless as you, Jackson."
"Yep, the warm, fuzzy, useless man who saved your life."
Snow ground her teeth. Jack snickered victoriously.
She held up a fist and Jack stopped. She peered through the rifle's night-vision scope. "There's the other two. Forty yards out straight ahead."
"What's the plan?" Jack whispered.
"Create a distraction and I'll take them out."
Jack aimed an incredulous stare at the back of her head. "Seriously?"
"What?" Snow asked, adopting a facetious innocent tone. "You don't trust me?"
"You just told me you'd break my legs five minutes ago!"
"If I were going to let you die, I'd have done it when I found you. Now make yourself useful and distract them."
Jack let out a frustrated growl. "You are the absolute worst."

Snow smiled smugly and said nothing as he crept off in the direction of the two approaching mercenaries.






Of Cinder and Bone
Of Cinder and Bone Book 1


OF CINDER AND BONE is Ron Howard's Ransom meets Michael Crichton's Jurassic Park! 
After centuries of being the most dangerous predators on the planet, dragons were hunted to extinction. That is, until Dr. Rhett “Jack” Jackson and Dr. Kamala Anjali cracked the code to bring them back. Through their research at MIT, they resurrected the first dragon anyone has seen alive since the 15th century. There’s just one problem.


Someone stole it.



Caught between two ruthless yakuza clans who want to clone the dragon, Jack and Kamala brave the dangerous streets of Tokyo to steal their dragon back in a race against time before the world is taken over by mutated, bloodthirsty monsters that will raze it to ashes.



Of Cinder and Bone is an all-new sci-fi thriller from the author of the Amazon bestselling Black Parade novels. Don’t miss out on this explosive first-in-series! Fans of Westworld, I Robot, Pacific Rim, and Reign of Fire will fall in love with this mashup novel that opens up a whole new world of possibilities into what we know and love about dragons.


**FREE at Amazon and Smashwords!!**


Amazon * Smashwords


Jack raised his gun as a man came around the front of the truck and opened fire with a roar, emptying the clip into the man’s chest. The yakuza crumpled to the road in a heap. Another one stepped out from behind him and raised his AR-15, his finger closing on the trigger.
And then the dragon dropped out of the sky right on top of him.
Pete slammed the man to the ground with her clawed feet and took a vicious bite out of his neck, killing him instantly. A third man jumped on top of the truck’s hood and stopped dead out of pure shock, as he was now level with her. The dragon snarled and slammed her tail into his chest. It sent him cartwheeling off the edge of the road and down into the ravine beside it, screaming the whole way.
The dragon snorted once and then hurried over to Jack and Kamala, sniffing them briefly in confirmation, and then nudging them towards her large, scaly torso.
“I… I think she wants us to get on,” Kamala said, dumbfounded as Pete bumped her side up against them and flapped her huge wings.
“That’s impossible,” Jack sputtered. “The two of us together nearly weigh three hundred pounds. She can’t possibly lift—holy shitbricks!”
  Impatient, the dragon slid her neck through Jack’s parted legs and stood up, barking once at Kamala. She threw her leg over the dragon’s back. Then Pete took three mighty steps towards the edge of the road and leapt off.
For three terrifying seconds, they dropped through the air like a cement block.
Then, Pete’s leathery wings spread and they flew.
Gunfire cracked behind them, but the dragon flapped her wings to carry them higher out of harm’s way. She wheeled to one side and they disappeared into the shadow of the mountain range, over the forest below.
Jack dug his fingers into the dragon’s collar and finally opened his eyes. He stared speechless at the ground easily forty feet below them and into the cloudy horizon. Wind whistled past his ears, interrupted only by the powerful strokes of the dragon’s wings and the raspy clink of the chain still dragging below her body as they cut through the crisp air. She flew smoothly, as if she’d been doing it all her life, as if it were an effortless skill.

Behind him, Kamala had locked her arms around his waist and buried her face between his shoulder blades when they’d first taken off. Now, she held one hand out flat, her palm parallel to the ground, feeling the wind rushing over it. Half-hysterical laughter enveloped them both as the dragon carried them higher still, until they were circling one of the mountain’s peaks. 








Kyoko M is a USA Today bestselling author, a fangirl, and an avid book reader. She has a Bachelor of Arts in English Lit degree from the University of Georgia, which gave her every valid excuse to devour book after book with a concentration in Greek mythology and Christian mythology. When not working feverishly on a manuscript (or two), she can be found buried under her Dashboard on Tumblr, or chatting with fellow nerds on Twitter, or curled up with a good Harry Dresden novel on a warm Georgia night. Like any author, she wants nothing more than to contribute something great to the best profession in the world, no matter how small.








Follow the tour HERE
for exclusive excerpts and a giveaway!





1 comment:

Lacey Waters said...

This book looks amazing :D thank you for the post