Monday, December 11, 2017

The War Ender's Apprentice by Elizabeth Guizzetti



GUEST POST



 Welcome to my Office aka my Closet!


First of all, thanks so much for having me! I appreciate you being part of my blog tour and am excited to introduce myself to your readers.


So here is the official version of who I am: Much to my chagrin, I discovered I am not a cyborg and growing up to be an otter would be impractical, so I began writing stories. I currently live in Seattle with my husband and two dogs. When not writing, I love hiking and birdwatching.

People are interested in office spaces and I am happy to share mine. Though many people work from home, even telecommuters are often shocked to learn that I write and illustrate books from my closet. No, I’m not kidding.

We live in a small one bedroom condominium in the city proper of Seattle. After playing with a few configurations of furniture, we discovered the best place for my private work nook was our bedroom closet. We hung a blackout curtain so if my husband is sleeping, the door--or more likely one of the dogs scratching on the door--doesn't bother him.

Elizabethsoffice.jpg

It’s a fairly large closet: 6 by 7 feet. Since it is not connected to any shared or outer walls, it's quiet. I use my computer for writing, illustrating, laying out books, bookkeeping, etc. The walls are painted the same blue as our bedroom and I have our old dresser for storage and a matching pine desk and book case. Now according to HGTV, honey pine is dated, but I love it. The wire shelving that line the space were installed by the builder, but they have nice long screws and are anchored into the studs, so I just left them. I use them to store offseason supplies. (I teach during the summer and I have a few different booth layouts for conventions.)

My desk takes up most of the south wall. I have a 21 inch Cintique, connected to a IMac.

Elizabethsdesk.jpg

When I work in my office, Rosie sleeps under my desk

rosie_under_desk.jpg

Though Tycho has his own bed, he most often sleeps beside my desk so he can guard the door. Occasionally, he sleeps on the bed in the bedroom, since it means he's only six feet away.

IMG_0727.jpg

The only downside to my little space is I really can only do one thing at a time. When my office is clean, it looks and functions great, but when I have a bunch of conventions or workshops in a row, it becomes chaotic pretty quickly.

The number one question I get is: where do I keep my clothes?

I'm not a fancy person. Nor is my husband. I only have a few things that need to be on hangers, so I keep most of my clothing in my dresser. My three dresses and two work jackets in the coat closet in the living room.

Sometimes when I feel I need a bit more room, I stretch out on the couch. Then the dogs sit on the couch with me.

IMG_2703.jpg

So that's my space. I believe in using what one has, not waiting for the day that I have a real office. I don't know what might be someday. I hope that seeing my office inspires others to carve out a small space for themselves and create!



The War Ender's Apprentice: Book 1 of Chronicles of The Martlet

The War Ender's Apprenticethumbnail.jpg

Sword and Sorcery with a dash of Necromancy.
Novella, 178 Pages
Paperback ISBN:978-0999559802 / Ebook ISBN:978-0999559819
In the chaotic universe, many intelligent species are on the brink of war, but the Guild holds the violence at bay to foster peaceful trade. The most renowned War Ender is Lady Alana of House Eyreid, who hopes to train her beloved nephew, Roark, in her vocation.
It was supposed to be a simple training mission aboard an Interrealm slave ship. However, when Alana finds her people enslaved, she murders the crew and rescues every slave—whether criminal, dishonored, or stolen. A fleeting vision of Roark’s future tells her to offer the newly freed Eohan a War Ender’s education.
For her vision to come true, Alana must rescue Eohan’s young brother who was sold in the last port and lost somewhere in the Realms, but first, they have a war to end.


"Couldn’t put the book down until I finished it. I felt like my child self, hiding under my blanket with a flashlight..."
Ramona Ridgewell, Wolf Dream Books
"Guizzetti's no nonsense writing packs many punches and combines intelligent themes. I'm hooked to see where the Chronicles of the Martlet series takes me. Fans of Terry Brooks and Dionne Lister will love this..."
Dan Thompson, The Black Petal

Available at Amazon on Kindle and Paperback








Fantasy
Date Published: October 31, 2017
Publisher: ZB Publications

 photo add-to-goodreads-button_zpsc7b3c634.png

In the chaotic universe, many intelligent species are on the brink of war, but the Guild holds the violence at bay to foster peaceful trade. The most renowned War Ender is Lady Alana of House Eyreid. Alana hopes to train her beloved nephew, Roark, in her vocation.

It was supposed to be a simple training mission aboard an Interrealm slave ship. However, when Alana find her people enslaved, she murders the crew and rescues every slave—whether criminal, dishonored, or stolen. A fleeting vision of Roark's future tells her to offer the newly freed Eohan a War Ender’s education.

For her vision to come true, Alana must rescue Eohan’s young brother who was sold in the last port and lost somewhere in the Realms, but first, they have a war to end.


Excerpt


“We must move quickly.”
“My mother …” He stared at the corpse with red-rimmed eyes.
Alana took the keys and unlocked the chains. “I’m sorry for your loss, but get those who still hold life. Once safe, we mourn the dead.”
Withered women struggled to rise and climb to the upper deck still clutching dead offspring.
The young man didn’t move. “I can’t leave her here. I can’t leave my brother.”
“What’s your name?” Alana asked.
“Eohan, Son of Aedell.”
“Eohan, would Aedell want you to die with her corpse when I abandon this ship to the depths?”
The youth sniffed. “No.”
“It would bring your mother honor to know her son saved these other mothers. Get them to the lifeboats.”
“Lifeboats.” As if the young man came out of a daze, Eohan leapt to his feet and unchained the nearest woman who clasped her dead baby. The woman moaned as he cradled her in his arms and tore out of the hold.
Alana grabbed another woman unable to walk and carried her to Roark who organized the five lifeboats and lowered them one by one into the sea.
She was proud her nephew had the good sense to organize each boat with a mix of healthy survivors and weakened ones. Some slaves dove into the sea and grasped the sides of the boats and other survivors, unwilling to be separated from their families again, clasped each other. Just as well, there wasn’t enough room on the lifeboats anyway.
Four more trips to the bowels of the ship, before she and Eohan were able to save all of the survivors. Every bunk, every corner, every chain, Eohan shouted, “Kian, Kian!”
Once the last survivor was out, Alana grabbed his arm before he went below again.
“My brother…”
“We have to go!”
“My brother … He’s a kid!”
“Children were sold in the last port, if you ever want to see him again we must go!”
He glanced toward the hatch.
Alana grabbed an oil lantern off its hook and smashed it across the deck.
“Come on!”
The boy didn’t move, but screamed, “Kian!”
Alana almost left Eohan to the flames, but heard Alana Mira! Somewhere deep in her mind, through the smoke, she witnessed an adult version of Eohan tossing a squealing auburn-haired child into the air and catching her.
Damn it. The boy was destined to become a man. A man with a child. 
The vision of the child turned to face her. The resemblance to Roark was unmistakable, but she saw something else deep within the blue eyes. Something wild and violent. She was unsure if her vision was literal or figurative representations, but somehow Eohan was bound to the future of House Eyreid. Damn me to the lowest Realm!
“Ki–!” Eohan choked as smoke filled his lungs.
Flames rolled closer to them, eating the decking.
Alana rammed her left index and middle finger into a pressure point deep within the boy’s shoulder and gripped his ear with her right hand. “Move.”
*





About the Author



Much to her chagrin, Elizabeth Guizzetti discovered she was not a cyborg and growing up to be an otter would be impractical, so she began writing stories. Guizzetti currently lives in Seattle with her husband and two dogs. When not writing, she loves hiking and birdwatching.

She is the author and illustrator of independent comics: Faminelands and Lure and Out for Souls&Cookies! Her debut novel, Other Systems, was a 2015 Finalist for the Canopus Award for excellence in Interstellar Fiction. She continues to write science fiction, horror, and fantasy novels. Chronicles of the Martlet is her first novella series.


Contact Links


Purchase Links

No comments: