Monday, October 31, 2011

The Lost by Caridad Pineiro-Interview & Giveaway: Bewitching Tour Stop


The Lost
By Caridad Pineiro
Mass Market Paperback: 352 pages
Publisher: Forever
(Hachette Book Group)
Date Published: August 1, 2011
ISBN-10: 0446584614
ISBN-13: 978-0446584616

Blurb:
Adam Bruno is no ordinary millionaire. The heir to an ancient race possessing a dark, powerful magic, he can shapeshift and create energy. His gifts make him a living weapon and have forced him to live in seclusion. But now an inhuman force hunts down Adam-just when he finds someone who makes him feel more human than he ever imagined possible . . .
Home from combat in Iraq, Bobbie Carerra wants only peace, yet soon joins Adam in a terrifying battle against paranormal enemies who hide in plain sight. She's drawn to his strength of mind and body; he's attracted to her courage and intoxicating energy. Their scorching passion can either transport them to the heights of ecstasy or-if Adam's powers rage out of control-destroy them. But when an invisible brotherhood tightens its nets and someone Adam trusts betrays him, only a heartrending decision can save them

You Tube Book Trailer: http://youtu.be/UULi4PP4GPc


 GIVEAWAY

Caridad is giving away a Lost T-shirt and ebook copy of Rookie of the Year (images attached). T-shirt open to US Shipping.  For a chance to win just leave a comment on this post. Ends Nov 6th.

 
 



 

About Sin Hunters Series
I want to thank all of you who have been writing to tell me how much you’ve been loving the Carrera family, as well as enjoying the towns along the Jersey Shore where the SINS series was set.


With THE LOST, I’m introducing a much darker paranormal series I’m calling SIN HUNTERS. The stories are still set along the Jersey Shore and you’ll have the beloved Carreras, but now you’ll also get to meet an exciting new race of people: The Light and Shadow Hunters.


Why the change? There was something about Bobbie Carrera, the heroine in THE LOST, that needed something different and something very special. Someone very special. Bobbie is an Iraq war veteran and she’s home from battle, but wounded both physically and emotionally. She’s busy trying to put her world back together and the last thing she needs is more conflict in her life.
But I’m a bad girl, you know. I love to challenge my characters into facing their most extreme hurts because that only makes their happiness that much sweeter. I think you love that as well because there is nothing more uplifting than seeing how love can truly conquer all.
Bobbie’s challenge comes in the form of sexy millionaire Adam Bruno. Adam is different from any man she has ever met and Bobbie feels an immediate connection to him. There’s just one problem: Adam has no idea who he really is and why he possesses the ability to gather energy. That ability allows him to do a myriad of things, shapeshifting, to traveling at super speed, to wielding energy and light like weapons. But those powers are challenging Adam, because as they become more powerful, the also grow harder to control and deadly.

Enter Bobbie Carrera. Bobbie brings peace to Adam’s soul. Adam feels lost in the human world, but in Bobbie’s arms he finds love, acceptance and the possibility for a future he had never imagined.

But before he can reach that future, he must deal with the present, and that means battling the evil Shadow Hunters and facing the shocking truth about his real identity.

I hope you will enjoy the Sin Hunters series. Look for THE CLAIMED in May 2012 which will feature someone you meet in THE LOST. Not going to spill as to who it is just yet, but keep in mind I just love stories of redemption….

Thank you all for your continued support.
Also, many thanks to our military men, women and their families for safeguarding our Liberty and our country.
THE LOST is dedicated to you for all the sacrifices you make on our behalf. God bless you and keep you safe.

Reviews:

"Pineiro's new series will excite readers, new and old...Her characters and red-hot writing had me looking for the nearest cold shower.  THE LOST is an excellent beginning to a new series that will have readers counting the days until the second Sin Hunters book is released."~ 4 Stars RT BookReviews
 
An excellent romance story and the paranormal aspects really held me captive. I truly loved that the heroine was a war veteran and she gets a excellent HEA. If you’re one for danger, betrayal, adventure and romance this maybe a book for you.”~Laurie Bitten by Paranormal Romance

INTERVIEW

How did you start your writing career?

I started writing in the fifth grade when my teacher assigned a project:  to write a book that would be included in a class lending library.  I ended up writing my first romance novel and have not stopped writing since that day.  Shortly after my daughter was born, I decided that I was going to try and sell one of those books that I had been writing.  I sat down and finished the book and sent it out.  Six years later I sold my first book!  I now have nearly 30 published novels and novellas. 

Tell us about a favorite character from a book.

I love Bobbie Carrera from THE LOST and Diana Reyes from THE CALLING Vampire series (which will relaunch as the REBORN series in 2012).  Both women are strong and kick-ass.  Both are scarred emotionally, but that gives them so much depth.  It also makes them so much more heroic that they can set aside their own pain in order to help others.

Where do you dream of traveling to and why?

I’ve always dreamed of traveling around the world to see some of the homes of ancient peoples, like Chichen Itza and Macchu Picchu.  I would so love to see how they lived and maybe incorporate that into some new stories.  I’d also love to travel to the Amazon and see the rainforest and the Amazon River.  I actually wrote an upcoming erotic paranormal romance novella in the Amazon (Amazon Awakening, Nocturne Cravings, December 2012).  I have been to a rainforest in Costa Rica and used that to help me create some of the scenes in Amazon Awakening.

Does travel play in the writing of your books?

Travel does play a role in a number of my books.  While it’s great to do research, there is something about being able to travel to a new and different place and experience it live that adds depth that it is hard to get from just books or online.  For THE LOST, I set the novel along the Jersey Shore where I was able to spend a lot of time.  It was great to include places I’ve visited in the scenes as well as my experiences with the sounds, smells and feel of the shore.

Tell us about your current release.

My latest release is THE LOST, the first book in a new paranormal romance series about the Sin Hunters, a race of energy gatherers.  THE LOST is about Adam Bruno, a man who knows he is not human and is trying to discover why he is different.  The heroine in the novel is Bobbie Carrera, a hero Marine who has come home from war both emotionally and physically wounded.  Despite that, Bobbie steps up to help Adam when he is attacked.  The attraction is immediate and together Adam and Bobbie will fight to find out the truth about Adam’s past and to save their newfound love.

Tell us about your next release.
 
I have two other releases this year:  A VAMPIRE FOR CHRISTMAS anthology and AMAZON AWAKENING, an erotic paranormal romance.  My story in the Christmas vampire anthology is a Dickens-like tale about an angel who must save a vampire from losing his soul, but finds herself failing at her task because she is falling in love with him.  AMAZON AWAKENING is a very sexy story about a New York City lawyer who is pulled back to the Amazon by the sexy caretaker of her dead father’s plantation.  What she doesn’t realize is that her legacy is to assume leadership of a unique race of Guardians who have been charged with protecting what might be the Garden of Eden.
Who is your favorite author?

My favorite author is J.D. Robb.  I so love the IN DEATH series and whenever I need inspiration, I read one of the books in the series.  They challenge me to be a better writer and analyzing them always helps me see how pacing and plotting is meant to work.

When in the day/night do you write? How long per day?

I’ve discovered I’m a morning person.  I write on the train on the way to and from work.  I also write for about 4 hours or so in the early morning on Saturday and Sunday.  Since I have a full time job still, it’s hard to work once I get home at night and only do that if I am really pressed by a deadline.  I usually leave those night time hours to updating my website or interacting with fans.

What does your significant other and family think of your writing career?

My husband and daughter are both very supportive of my writing and I could not have realized my dreams without them.  They are always helpful with what I need to do and understanding of

Do you hear from your readers? What kinds of questions do they ask?

I hear from readers all the time and love sharing time with them.  Many have become long distance fans with whom I have regular conversations.  I’ve even been lucky enough to meet many of them face-to-face.  That is one of my favorite things about being a writer.

Do you have a Website or Blog?
 
You can visit me and my blog at www.caridad.com.  You can also check out my Facebook Fan Page at www.facebook.com/caridad.author or follow my tweets at www.twitter.com/caridadpineiro.
 
 
 
 





ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Caridad PiƱeiro® is a multi-published and award-winning author whose love of the written word developed when her fifth grade teacher assigned a project – to write a book that would be placed in a class lending library. She has been hooked on writing ever since.



From the start, Caridad’s novels have received acclaim and have helped redefine the landscape of modern romance novels. In 1999, Caridad was published by Kensington as part of Encanto, the first line of bilingual Latino romance novels. In 2000, Caridad was one of the first Latino authors featured at the launch of BookExpo America’s Spanish Pavillion. In December 2006, Caridad helped Silhouette launch its successful Nocturne paranormal line with DEATH CALLS, one of the novels in the award-winning THE CALLING Vampire series. In addition, Caridad has appeared at BookExpo America on numerous occasions and has captained both the multicultural and vampire genre panels at the RT BookClub Conventions.



Caridad’s CHICAS novels, including her seventeenth release, SOUTH BEACH CHICAS CATCH THEIR MAN from Simon & Schuster’s Downtown Press, have garnered praise from both fellow authors and reviewers and are helping to make Latina fiction a vital part of the publishing mainstream.



In recognition of her work, Caridad has received various awards and honors. In 2007, a year marked by the debut of six novels from Harlequin and Pocket Books, Caridad received the Golden Apple Award Author of the Year Award from the New York City Chapter of the Romance Writers of America. Other honors that Caridad has received include the selection of DANGER CALLS and DEATH CALLS as the Top Fantasy Books of 2005 and 2006 by CATALINA magazine, the Cataromance Reviewers Choice Award for Best Nocturne in 2006 and the New Jersey Romance Writers Golden Leaf award in 2001 for Best Short Contemporary. Her other titles have received a number of nominations, such as the Harlequin Readers Choice Awards and RIO Reviewers Choice Awards. Both DANGER CALLS and SEX AND THE SOUTH BEACH CHICAS have been book club selections.



Caridad’s eighteenth novel, MOON FEVER, a paranormal anthology with Maggie Shayne, Susan Sizemore and Lori Handeland, debuted in late September 2007 as #32 on the New York Times Extended Bestseller list and #123 on the USA TODAY Bestseller List. HOLIDAY WITH A VAMPIRE, a paranormal anthology with Maureen Child, made the BookScan Top 100 Adult Fiction list.



In 2009, Caridad will debut a new paranormal romantic suspense series with Grand Central Publishing. The first novel in the series, SINS OF THE FLESH, will be released in November 2009.



Caridad has appeared on Romance Novel Television, Fox Television’s Good Day New York Early Edition , New Jersey News’ Jersey’s Talking with Lee Leonard and WGN-TV’s Adelante Chicago. Articles featuring Caridad’s works have appeared in the New York Daily News, Catalina, RT BookClub, NJ Monthly, Star Ledger, Home Tribune News, Sun Sentinel, Variety Yahoo! Online News, Latina and the Waterbury Republican-American.



When not writing, Caridad teaches workshops on various topics related to writing and heads a writing group. Caridad is also an attorney, wife and mother.



Also about the Author:



Caridad was born in Havana, Cuba, and settled in the New York Metropolitan area. She attended Villanova University on a Presidential Scholarship and graduated magna cum laude. Caridad earned her juris doctor from St. John’s University and became the first female partner of Abelman, Frayne & Schwab, an intellectual property firm in midtown Manhattan.





LAST STOP ON TOUR


THANKS FOR LOOKING!

Sunday, October 30, 2011

Brass Hearts by A Lightbourne-Tour Post: Virtual Book Tour Cafe Tour Stop



ABOUT THE AUTHOR
I began writing stories almost as soon as I learned to write. From my 1st grade 'journal' full of tales of rabbit adventures to my first full length book at 14.  I have always had a love for writing stories.

Besides words I also have a love for tech. From an early age I built 'bread boards', soldering diodes and components to create such things as a light detecting alarm clock and other such ...useless things.  I moved on to building my first DOS PC at 15. I also graduated School at 15. Later on I became a certified PC tech.

I am happily married with lots of furry little 'children'.  Most of which I raised by hand when a local rescue group or friends brought me orphaned babies to bottle feed.

Most of my writing is SciFi/Fantasy based, and almost all of it contains humor. I like short, fun, humorous stories.

My favorite authors are Jane Austen and Douglas Adams.

I hope you enjoy reading my work as much as I enjoy writing it.

If anyone has any questions, please don't hesitate to contact me.

Thank you,
BK

BOOK BLURB

A classic Romantic tale, set in a picturesque steampunk world.

All Dulcy Spry wants in life is to inherit her father's small, family business, and help run it while she waits. But after a fateful encounter with the snobbish Mr Pridget on the roadside Dulcy's best friend, Alise, and younger sister, Rosa, drag the reluctant Miss Spry into high society, where lies, manipulations and family secrets threaten to ruin her peaceful life and cast her into the dismal prison of an unwanted marriage.
Brass Hearts is a Cinderella-esque type story. It is a sweet, old fashioned romance, complete with bad impressions, lies, misunderstandings and social divide.
I would call this a light steampunk, it does not focus on tech and gadgetry or air pirates and there are no weapons ever fired in the book. The characters live in a steam powered world that is a mix of Victorian, Early 1900's, Modern day and futuristic.

 



INTERVIEW 


Does travel play in the writing of your books?
Yes, I get a lot of inspiration for scenes while looking at architecture. I got the water castle in Space Trippers 3: A Frosty Farewell from the fountains in front of a hotel. And some of the most interesting conversations can be overheard while traveling. I am a wall flower, I watch, I listen, I remember. And then I expand on my observations and whole stories or new characters can emerge. I mostly remember funny, amusing things. I like humor and try to include it in my writings whenever I can.
What is the hardest part of writing your books?
Actually making myself sit down and write! I am a total procrastinator. I tend to never do what needs to be done at the time and find other things to do instead. Many times I try to sit down to write but cannot get into the mind set because my house needs cleaned or I get distracted by new mangas coming out.
What does your significant other and family think of your writing career?
My Husband is very supportive, he finds my stories highly entertaining. It is fun to watch his reactions and hear his comments as I read him what I have so far. With Space Trippers he is laughing a lot, which is good as I intend for it to be a light, fun story. With Brass Hearts I heard a lot of exasperated sighs when people annoyed him, and his wanting to slap people, mostly the stuck up 'Richies' and Rosa. LOL
My mother loves my books as well. She is actually the inspiration for Lola in Space Trippers. And I am not being mean, she will openly and proudly announce she is my pattern for Lola....she is a little ditsy. Don't get me started on walking the streets of New York city with her waving money around and commenting on how it looked just like Sesame Street while a gang was following us. Oh, the stories I could tell.
How do you describe your writing style?
I try to be descriptive. I picture everything in my head like a movie playing out, and I try to capture that. I try to say what everyone is doing and how they do it, what they say and how they say it. If they have a compulsive quirk you will 'see' it every time they do it, which may get repetitive, but that is what they were doing so I put it in. I try not to be overly wordy and stick with what is important at the moment, not straying off into too much location detail and loosing the plot. People tend to comment that they can picture my stories like a movie in their head.
My favorite move is Support Your Local Sheriff....so you see my style preference.
Do you use a pen name? If so how did you come up with it?
Yes I do. I came up with my pen name when I was 14. I wrote my first full length novel then as extra credit in English (I am dyslexic so I needed it). I did think of a different more 'mature' one later on but decided to go with Aurora Lightbourne. I like it and it reminds me not to take myself too seriously and just have fun.
How do you develop your plots and characters? Do you use a set formula?
I don't use any formulas or anything like that. I can't be that...organized and strict. Plots and characters will just come to me as I think about things. I am always coming up with funny stories and fake conversations as my Husband can tell you. I keep him entertained with my odd observations and ramblings. I will just think of a conversation or a character or some setting I like and then as I dwell on it the idea may develop into a full blown, usable notion....or not. Brass Hearts started out as a 'what if'/'wouldn't it be fun if' and then the main character Dulcet came into view. The plot, world and other characters came after as I thought more about her and got to know her life and personality.
As a child what did you want to be when you grew up?
I loved Science and the ocean so I wanted to be an oceanographer. Until I learned how much schooling it took ad that there are things in the ocean that are bigger than me...with teeth!
What would we find under your bed?
Drawers. I would say 'with clothes in them' but my cats seem to think they are retractable nesting beds. They think they are sneaky when they pull them out just enough to squeeze down into, but the tell-tale pile of clothing they kicked out to make room for themselves always gives them away.
If you were to write a series of novels what would they be about?
I am writing a series actually. Brass Hearts is a stand-alone, cute romance. My series is an ongoing project, I am currently working on book 5 of the 9 book Space Tripper series.
It is a fun, and I think funny, Sci-fi/Fantasy romp where the main character's past comes to haunt her along with an entire unwanted, mismatched crew. She is not a real people person and there are some on board that insist on being friends; A flirty ex-police pilot and a young genius that has a crush on her for starters. Their interactions as they learn to get along and find their way home when a device strands them in space is the main focus of the plot with a dark, ominous under lining. The series is plotted out in episodic pieces. Kind of like a manga or anime, which I love.



FULL TOUR SCHEDULE

September 27 - Guest Blogging at http://www.playground51.com/ 
September 29 - Author Interviewed at http://theawesomemagicattic.blogspot.com/
October 1 - Guest Blogging at http://niinas-reading-and-reviewing.blogspot.com/
October 3 - Guest Blogging at ink-puddle.blogspot.com
October 5 - Author Interviewed at http://thebooksisterhood.blogspot.com/
October 7 - Guest Blogging at http://bookish-delights.blogspot.com/
October 11 - Author Interviewed at http://lauriethoughts-reviews.blogspot.com
October 13 - Guest Blogging at http://www.librarianmouse.com
October 17 - Author Interviewed at http://thefairytalenerd.blogspot.com
October 20 - Brass Hearts Review & Giveaway at www.reviewsbymolly.com 










Disclaimer: This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.   In some cases, I receive free books in return for a review. My reviews always express my own personal opinion. I am not obligated to write a glowing or even favorable review.  I have not received any monetary compensation in return for my honest review. Promotional banners and information was provided through Bewitching Book Tours. I am an authorized Tour Host. 

THANKS FOR LOOKING!

Saturday, October 29, 2011

Invisible Sun by S J Davis-Interview: Bewitching Tour Stop




Invisible Sun
By SJ Davis

Genre: steampunk and vampires

In Victorian London, at the beginning of the Industrial Age and the height of man’s obsession with alchemy, scientists gave birth to the foundation of modern genetic science. As steampunk airships cut across the foggy city of Gravesend, vampires are brought to life.

But instead of scavengers prowling the fringe of society, these creatures have evolved to be the respected organizers of the Society, a universal religion, and the Guardians of Science.

One stray drop has spilled from the vein. Draegan, heralded from birth as the genetically perfect vampire, has turned rogue, attacking the women of London’s East End. Only his brother, with the help of Lady Astrid West, can hunt him down before he is able to unleash his full insanity upon the helpless city. And only another birth, the birth of yet another perfect vampire, can stop his madness.
Book Trailer: http://youtu.be/_LhyHSQuNdU


INTERVIEW


Tell us about your current release

Invisible Sun is a Steampunk Vampire novella. Steampunk is such a great sub-genre for the kind of book I’ve always wanted to write - the rules are nebulous and the lines confining your imagination are full of gaps. With steampunk, creativity is the only rule.

There are certain “ideals” when you think of steampunk. Goggles, gas lanterns, airships, corsets, steam locomotives, for example. Or adventuring Victorian woman running about containing dastardly villains with a click of their parasol’s poison dart, but mostly, everything is in flux. Steampunk tropes have recently found their way into alien stories and the Wild West. And this is all good fun!



I began with the perils of the Industrial Age and man’s obsession with alchemy. Through genetic engineering, London scientists inadvertently create a new breed of vampires in Victorian London. But instead of these vampires being scavengers, or prowling the fringes of society, these creatures are highly evolved and respected organizers of law and the guardians of science.

I felt free to create fantastic scenarios with steampunk vampires living in a gaslight and steam powered world. I blended them together with a dash of futuristic and dystopian genetic science then a hint of romance. I hope this keeps the reader turning pages! It’s sexy, scary, retro, with high stakes to add more steam to your traditional steampunk.

What was your first sale as an author?

I wrote a novella, called INK. It’s a Young Adult Paranormal Romance with a Native American heroine. I love that story so much that I am working on a sequel or possibly expanding the whole story. INK came out the beginning of Oct 2011, and Invisible Sun followed a few weeks later. I’ve been blessed and busy.

When in the day/night do you write? How long do you write?  

I write while my kids are in school, right after I clean up breakfast and walk the dog. I do believe there are days when you can’t “make” it happen. On those days, I work out or read, and that usually gets me going. I try to write for a solid 2-3 hours per day and I can usually eek out about 500 works.

Do you listen to music while you write? If so, what? 

Oh I totally do!!! Usually each character has a playlist. While I wrote Invisible Sun, I listened to a lot of Abney Park (a fabulous Steampunk band), and Linkin Park. When I wrote INK, I listened to the Avett Brothers, My Morning Jacket, Mumford and Sons, and Alice in Chains.

Do you friends think you are an introvert or an extravert? Why?  

I would definitely say most of them believe I am an extrovert – and I am. I like to laugh and tell stories and my friends give me the space and confidence to be myself!

Do you have a favorite quote or saying?

I do! I wish I knew who to attribute it to; it is usually ascribed to “anonymous.” But it’s “Never let the hand you hold, hold you down.”

Beatles or Monkees?

Beatles, for sure! I love Paul and Abbey Road is one of my favorite albums.

Thanks so much S. J. for stopping in. It was great to find out a little more about you and your book!



ABOUT THE AUTHOR

SJ Davis is the daughter of an ex-patriate British mother and a Southern Baptist ex-CIA father. As a child, she spoke in silly accents and recounted outlandish tales of fantasy over afternoon tea and to this day it remains her favorite activity. Born in Long Island, NY, she was raised in the suburbs of Washington DC and went to school for a very long time (University of Virginia and George Mason University), married an all-around wonderful man, had two kids (smart, funny, full of opinions), moved from Virginia to New Jersey to Philadelphia to Chicago, and began her writing career. She is a believer in fate, an avid tea drinker, a stiletto aficionado, Doc Marten worshipper, punk rock listener, and lover of flip flops and cardigans. She has a terrible sense of direction, loves gummy bears, and is a Johnny Depp fangirl.








LAST STOP ON TOUR

Oct 30 Guest Blog and review
Romancing the Darkside


Authors - Book Tours can give your book additional exposure and help you reach new readers.  There are several different plans from which to choose.  There are options available that are ideal for modest budgets.  To find out more, click the image.

Bloggers -  Find out how you can become a Tour Host. To find out more details, click the image.





Disclaimer: This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.   In some cases, I receive free books in return for a review. My reviews always express my own personal opinion. I am not obligated to write a glowing or even favorable review.  I have not received any monetary compensation in return for my honest review. Promotional banners and information was provided through Bewitching Book Tours. I am an authorized Tour Host. 

THANKS FOR LOOKING!
 

Friday, October 28, 2011

Jezebel by Gordon Kessler-Character Interview, giveaway:Goddess Fish Tour Stop

Sleep lightly tonight…
A madman has come to town seeking a diabolical revenge and large dogs begin attacking their masters for no apparent reason and with heinous results.

Animal Control Director Tony Parker must find out why and stop the murderous attacks. Meanwhile, Jezebel, a huge black Great Dane has killed her master and is loose, terrorizing the city and stalking Parker and his family. Parker and Sarah Hill, his beautiful and seductive young assistant, attempt to unravel the mystery and stop the terrible carnage while dealing with their own demons and lusty desires.

The attacks must be stopped. Jezebel must be found-and soon, you see--there is one other complication. Parker seems to have come down with an annoying little virus. No, it's not one of those irritating summer colds. It's certain death.

She's a murderess, huge and black as a hell-bound night.

Beware. Jezebel is on the loose!




GIVEAWAY
Comment for a chance to win a $50 Amazon Gift Card. Follow the tour and comment on all the posts in order to significantly increase your chance to win.  Ends November 2nd.
HTML code


EXCERPT 

Hill went to the front door and watched Chin’s van make a U-turn at the corner and head down the street.  The headlights flashed in Hill’s face, momentarily blinding her.  She winced.  The light burned her already blood-shot, weary eyes.



A silent moment passed before a sound came from outside.  The back yard.  Scratching.  Something was climbing over the fence.



The rifle.  It was still next to the back door.  Hill moved quickly toward the kitchen.  As she made it to the hall, the dog port began to open.  Hill stepped to the side, out of sight, before seeing what was coming through.



She trembled, backing up to the wall next to the large window that was painted shut.  She could run for the door, but by the time she reached it, she’d be seen.  No way out.  Hide.  Where?  There was no place.  Behind the sheer curtain, maybe.  In the dark, she might not be seen if she was quiet and didn’t move.



She pulled the curtain around her.  She could see through it, but it made the already dim room even dimmer.  The blowing fan was the only noise.  Nothing moved except the oscillating shadows of the fan blades beating the stale air through the room.  The green flash of the clock on the CD player caused an eerie, strobing light.


A dark shape slowly emerged from the hallway and moved into the room.  Large.  Huge.  Black. 

 

CHARACTER INTERVIEW

Thanks for hosting us on your blog, Laurie!

For today, I thought I'd turn the character interview over to a familiar character from Jezebel, Channel Two TV News reporter Henry Haskins. He's done some character interviews in the past for my thriller Brainstorm, as well as Jezebel, but he's never done an interview quite like this one. He'll be interviewing the protagonist from Jezebel, Animal Control Director Tony Parker, as well as Assistant Director Tommy Chin—and there's a surprise guest that I think is going to be a huge surprise. Henry, word to the not-so wise—watch what you say—try not to get bloodied up, this time.

Henry Haskins: You can go now—I don't need a smart-ass writer to help me with an interview. I am a professional, you know. Don't let the door hit you on the keyboard on the way out.

I don't know anything about a "surprise guest"—there's only two people scheduled. Anyway, for today's interview, I'll be speaking with my old girlfriend's estranged husband, and his boy Friday.

So Mr. Head Dog Catcher, you really made a mess of things in this novel, didn't you?

Tony Parker: It was a mess, but it wasn't my intention or doing. A demented mind was responsible. What part I may have been responsible for in the terrible happenings, I'm very sorry for. And, by the way, Julie and I aren't separated, we're as happy together as ever. So I'd appreciate you not trying to start any more rumors.

Tommy Chin: Tony, you don't need to apologize for any of what happened in Jezebel. You weren't responsible. Hell, you saved dozens.

Haskins: Funny you should say that, Chin. I heard you left that foxy little Sarah at the MacGreggor's house to be Jezebel's next victim. Did you get scared? I also hear you might not live through the story—you too, Parker.

Chin: Sarah talked me into leaving. There was an emergency call, and...

Haskins: That's what I heard you said. Truth is, the people who're supposed to protect the town against dangerous animals were hiding out—too scared to deal with them, and especially deal with Jezebel. How else do you explain that big bitch being on the loose for so long?

Parker: Listen Haskins, we did everything we could to catch Jezebel right away. She's extremely smart, very fast, and as strong as a horse. During the day, she found places to hide, and she mostly came out at night to do what she needed to do.

Haskins: And what was that—what did she need to do? Kill dozens of people? Terrorize the city? Stalk you and your family? You must have been crapping your pants while you cowered in your closet.

Parker: You'll have to read the story to understand Jezebel. She was on her own mission, after she killed MacGreggor, her master.

Chin: You'll never see Tony cowering. How would you like my boot in your...

Haskins: Now settle down, assistant dog catcher... we're supposed to be doing an interview, here.

Parker: Let's get on with it, then, Haskins. You know I don't enjoy being around you any longer than I have to be. I'm only doing this interview to help our author promote our book. Ask us something that bloggers might be interested in.

Haskins: Okay, how about this one, fair and balanced, to the point—did you have sex with your assistant, Sarah Hill? Whoa—sit down, both of you. It's a question that bloggers will be interested in....

Parker: It's okay, Tommy. I'll answer the jerk. No.

Haskins: Yeah, right. Is that your Bill Clinton answer? Okay, how about these questions—did you attack the county sheriff? Did you tell your boss to "shove it"? Did you know that you were responsible for the massacre that was happening in Wichita long before you did something about it? Could you have killed Jezebel early on? Was your failure to act responsible for what happened to your best friend, Jack? Was it your negligence that caused your wife, and my old flame, Julie to be attacked by Jezebel? Okay, okay, sit down... I'll ask one question at a time.

Parker: No, I think our interview is over. But you still have the surprise guest to speak with.

Haskins: Yeah, I can't wait. I'll bet it's Julie. We do have some unfinished business to take care of. I'd like start that up again. Hey, where you guys going? Not going to stick around and watch your little wifey melt like butter in my hands? Come on, take a poke at me, Parker—it'd be great to show the bloggers what a Neanderthal you really are.

Fine.... Come on in, Julie. Julie.... Ah—that's not... oh, my God! No! It's Jezebel. God no! Ahhhh!

Tony Parker: While Henry is being finished, er, uh, finishing the interview with Jezebel, I'd like to ask all you bloggers to give us your comments: what makes a good scare for you?

Also, as a reminder, here’s how to find out more about Gordon's thriller novels Jezebel, Brainstorm and Dead Reckoning: The YouTube book trailer for Jezebel is  HERE; and the Brainstorm trailer is HERE. Then there’s his blog and his websites Gordon Kessler  and  Readers Matrix . He has other blogs and websites for writers, as well. Gordon would love it if you would tweet him on twitter friend him on Facebook and link with him on LinkedIn. And you can always find his books at any online bookstore, including Amazon, B&N, iBooks, Nook, Smashwords, etc. All three of his thrillers are currently on sale in all the eBook formats for only $.99—trying to get those sales numbers soaring! Of course, you can find them in traditional paperback and hardcover at reasonable prices, as well.

One more plug for one of his books: Novel Writing Made Simple is an excellent resource for both the beginning and seasoned novelist, as well. You can find the spiral bound and paperback on www.Amazon.com and www.Lulu.com, or there’s even an eBook version you can download from iBooks or from Lulu.
Thanks again for hosting me on your wonderful blog! I hope you and all your bloggers have a really frightening and fun Halloween!






NEXT STOPS ON TOUR

October 31: A. F. Stewart's Blog

November 1: Worlds of Possibilities

November 2: Marianne Arkins


See Full Tour Schedule








Disclaimer: This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.   In some cases, I receive free books in return for a review. My reviews always express my own personal opinion. I am not obligated to write a glowing or even favorable review.  I have not received any monetary compensation in return for my honest review. Promotional banners and information was provided through Goddess Fish Virtual Book Tours. I am an authorized Tour Host. 

THANKS FOR LOOKING!