Tuesday, August 30, 2011

Authors4TheCure Entangled Anthology: Sneak Peek

100% of the proceeds go to Breast Cancer Research Foundation

Release Date:  September 12, 2011

I am currently reading this book and a review will be forthcoming in the near future.


Back Cover Blurb

Ghosts, vampires, demons, and more! Entangled includes ten suspense-filled paranormal short stories from authors Cynthia Eden, Jennifer Estep, Edie Ramer, Lori Brighton, Michelle Diener, Misty Evans, Nancy Haddock, Liz Kreger, Dale Mayer, and Michelle Miles, plus a Seven Deadly Sins novella by Allison Brennan.

Stacia Kane contributed the foreword. Formatting and cover art were also donated to the project by Lori Devoti and Laura Morrigan.

All proceeds go to the Breast Cancer Research Foundation.

Stories include:

HALLOWEEN FROST by USA Today bestselling author Jennifer Estep (author of the Mythos Academy, Elemental Assassin, and Bigtime series) — It's Halloween at Mythos Academy, but Gwen Frost and her friends are in for more tricks than treats when they run into a mythological monster intent on killing them.

THE FAT CAT by Edie Ramer (author of Cattitude, Galaxy Girls) — In a battle for the souls of seven women, a wizard has the god of war on his side; all the witch has is a fat, black cat.

MEDIUM RARE by Nancy Haddock (author of the Oldest City Vampire trilogy) —What’s spooking the spirits of St. Augustine? As the witching hour of Halloween approaches, ghost seer Colleen Cotton must team with a by-the-book paranormal investigator to locate the one ghost who can save the city’s specters. If she fails, her own great grandfather’s spirit may be lost forever.

SWEET DEMON by Misty Evans (author of the Witches Anonymous series) —When Chicago’s vampire king insists Kali Sweet join his empire, the vengeance demon must rely on her ex – the half-human, half-chaos demon who left her at the altar three hundred years ago – in order to escape the vamp’s clutches.

SIAN’S SOLUTION by Dale Meyer (author of the Psychic Visions series) — When a vampire discovers the human man she loves has been captured and hung in a blood farm, she goes against her own kind and risks everything to save him.

A BIT OF BITE by Cynthia Eden (author of Never Cry Wolf and Angel of Darkness) — A killer is stalking the streets of Crossroads, Mississippi, and it's up to Sheriff Ava Dushaine to stop him. But when suspicion falls on werewolf alpha Julian Kasey—Ava’s ex-lover and the man who still haunts her dreams—Ava knows that she'll either have to prove his innocence...or watch the whole town go up in flames.

SINFULLY SWEET by Michelle Miles (author of the Coffee House series) — When Chloe bakes a little magic into her pastries, she attracts the attention of Edward, the sexy half-demon, half-witch, who’s come to warn her those who murdered her sister are now after her.

A NIGHT OF FOREVER by Lori Brighton (author of A Night of Secrets and To Seduce an Earl) — Who is Aidan Callaghan? Mary Ellen James is intent on uncovering the truth about the mysterious man, but as she soon finds out, some things are best left buried in the past.

FEEL THE MAGIC by Liz Kreger (author of the Part of Tomorrow series) — Jenna Carmichael’s magical attempt to rectify Jessica Manfield’s birth identity takes an unexpected turn when the past comes back to haunt her.

BREAKING OUT by Michelle Diener (author of the Tudor-set historical suspense novel In A Treacherous Court) — Imprisoned in a secret facility, powerful telekinetic Kelli Barrack and two other 'special' inmates grab a chance to escape, only to confront their worst nightmares on the outside.

GHOSTLY JUSTICE, an all-new Seven Deadly Sins novella by New York Times bestselling author Allison Brennan (author of the Seven Deadly Sins series) — Demon hunters Moira O’Donnell and Rafe Cooper are dragged into the dangerous world of nocturnal predators to find “Ghostly Justice” for a virgin sacrificed to an ancient blood demon.


I absolutely love the cover of this book.  I think it is beautiful and haunting.  What do you think??

MORE ABOUT THIS BOOK

Below is more information about this awesome new book. Thanks to Misty Evans for putting all this fabulous information together.

Q: Tell us about Entangled.
A: Entangled includes ten suspense-filled paranormal stories from authors Lori Brighton, Michelle Diener, Cynthia Eden, Jennifer Estep, Misty Evans, Nancy Haddock, Liz Kreger, Dale Mayer, Michelle Miles, and Edie Ramer, plus a brand new Seven Deadly Sins novella by Allison Brennan. Stacia Kane contributed the foreword and the book’s formatting and cover art were also donated to the project by Lori Devoti and Laura Morrigan. All proceeds from the sale of Entangled will be donated to the Breast Cancer Research Foundation (BCRF).

Q: Are the stories connected?
A: The anthology has a Halloween theme, so the stories all have Halloween elements in them.

Q: Are they all one genre?
A: All the stories paranormal, but some are heavier on suspense, while others have more romance. We even have a young adult story by Jennifer Estep that’s related to her Mythos Academy series.

Q: How did you all come up with the decision to do this book? Who initiated it and how did you all get together?
A: Edie Ramer and Misty Evans wanted to do a collaboration together, and over three or four emails earlier this year, they decided to do a paranormal anthology of short stories and have the proceeds go to breast cancer. They invited authors whose books they read and enjoyed, and the response was overwhelmingly positive.

Q: Tell us more about the Breast Cancer Research Foundation.
A: BCRF-funded research has helped save lives and improved the quality of care and rate of survival for tens of thousands of breast cancer patients in the past decade. Their research has revealed that the "cure" is a mosaic made up of as many approaches to diagnosing, treating, preventing and surviving as there are different types of breast cancer. The anthology is also a mosaic made up of many stories donated for this worthwhile cause.

Q: Is there a time limit on purchasing Entangled so the proceeds go to the BCRF?
A: Entangled will available for at least a year and all proceeds will go to BCRF, no matter when it’s purchased. After a year, if it’s still selling well, we’ll keep it available, and again, all proceeds will go to BCRF.

Q: How much will the ebook cost?
A: Entangled will be discounted to $2.99 during September and October in honor of Breast Cancer Awareness month. After that the price will go up to $3.99. For stories of this caliber, it’s a fantastic deal at either price.

Q: Can people donate to the cause even if they can’t or don’t want to purchase Entangled?
A: Absolutely. Go to  http://www.bcrfcure.org to make a donation in your name, or in the name of someone you know who’s been touched by breast cancer.

If you would like to host this book or any of the contributors on your blog, PLEASE contact Misty Evans (misty(at)readmistyevans(dot)com).  This truly is a cause we can all get behind.


Disclaimer: This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.   In some cases, I receive free books in return for a review. My reviews always express my own personal opinion. I am not obligated to write a glowing or even favorable review.  I have not received any monetary compensation in return for my honest review. Promotional information was provided by the authors.

THANKS FOR LOOKING!!

Monday, August 29, 2011

Ain't No Bull by Danica Avet - Interview & Giveaway:CBLS Tour Stop



Ain't No Bull (The Veil #4)
Grant Strickland isn’t ready to commit to a harem of placid cow-swans; not yet. But when he’s accosted by a crazy Amazon who’s determined to “save” him, he thinks the whole mating thing might be worth a try. Trouble follows Izzy, but it’ll take both of them to stop it from becoming war. Grant will use his skills, and cheat, to show Izzy where she really belongs is with him as her mate.




Today it's my pleasure to welcome Danica Avet. Danica is touring her newest book in The Veil series, Ain't No Bull.  Scroll on down for an Interview and a Giveaway!




GIVEAWAY
Comment and complete the short entry form for a chance to win a PDF copy of Ain't No Bull and a pack of trading cards.  If there are more than 10 unique commenters another pack of trading cards will be awarded to a second place winner, as well!  This giveaway will end Tuesday, September 6th at 11:59PM CST.  Random winner(s) will be selected using Random.org.

Be sure to follow the tour stops as there will be other giveaway opportunities at several of the stops.




BUY LINKS




 INTERVIEW

Tell us about a favorite character from a book.


That’s one of the toughest questions ever! In fact, it’s almost downright evil! Um, ‘cause you know, I read so much and fall in love with so many characters, I feel like I’m choosing favorites among my children or something. Okay, I don’t have children, but I have a two cats and a dog and they all act like one of the others gets something they don’t and I’ve gone completely off track haven’t I?

If I absolutely had to choose…Cadeon Woede of Dark Desires After Dusk by Kresley Cole. I love Kresley Cole and Cade is just…yummy with his Sith African accent and horns and naughty, dirty humor and okay, I could go on forever about him, but I won’t. I’ll just sit here and daydream instead…

Tell us about your current release.


My newest book, Ain’t No Bull, is the 4th book in my Veil Series. This book focuses on Isola “Izzy” Malone. She’s what some would call a “troublemaker” because she has no filter between her brain and her mouth and has the mad combat skillz to back her up. She’s exiled from her tribe to learn self-control with only one order…stay out of trouble for a full year. Simple enough, right? Ha! This is Izzy we’re talking about! She gets into trouble the first day of her exile!

Grant Strickland is a minotaur meaning he can change from man, to bull, to half-man, half-bull, and he’s like…rar delicious. He wants nothing to do with the good cow-swans (female bovine shifters) his mother’s always trying to set him up with. He’s just a single guy looking for a good time when he becomes caught up in a kidnapping plot arranged by a group of nymphs. When Izzy stumbles across them, it’s lust at first sight for Grant and it just goes downhill for him from there.

I loved writing this book because wow, the chemistry between them is electric not to mention they both crack me up. I hope people who read it see the same things I do. *bites her nails*

What was your first sale as an author?



My first sale was Ruby: Uncut and on the Loose (The Veil 1). It was my first serious foray into writing and actually the first full manuscript I finished. When I wrote the end on that book back in 2009, I did a little dance around my kitchen. It was July 4th and I swear, it really felt like Independence Day, like I’d broken free of some block in my mind. Selling the book was a dream come true and having readers e-mail me saying how much they enjoy it is just the icing on the cake.

What is the hardest part of writing your books?


Oh, wow…it depends really. Most of the time, the words will gush like a broken water pipe and I’m scrambling to keep up. 

It’s when someone shuts off the water that I have problems. Like, you know, I discover Angry Birds, or one of my favorite authors—of which there are very many!—comes out with a new book that my creative flow slows to a trickle. Or it could be a very difficult character, one who starts acting like a wimp. I really don’t like wimpy heroines and when I find them behaving that way, I have to stop, order them to put their big girl panties on, and try to see where they started to crumble under the pressure.  It can be frustrating to say the least, LOL

What do you think makes a good story?


I think characters (no matter if they’re vampires, werewolves, demons, or whatever) who act just like regular people make good stories. I like to write, and read, about men and women who have insecurities they have to overcome. Characters that are strong, or come through something horrific and become stronger really flip my Twinkie, they make me happy.


Humor is another big one for me. It isn’t necessary for a book to be non-stop laughter, but dark stories with light undertones really make a book for me whether I’m reading or writing it. The way I see it, life is depressing enough, why would I want to read something depressing too?

Okay, I confess, I’m a crier! There! I don’t want to sit there crying over a book (even though I have many times) because it’s embarrassing! *sniff* Don’t judge me! ;)

Do you listen to music while writing? If so what?


I live with music playing at all times. I’m a metal head and when I’m writing, I usually have Megadeth, Slipknot, Avenged Sevenfold, Tool, and bands like that playing. However, once in awhile, I’ll let my MP3 player decide and I’ll listen to anything from Johnny Cash to Misfits to Jay-Z to Gerry Rafferty.

Do you have a Website or Blog?

I have both! I blog every weekday over at http://danicaavet.wordpress.com/ I have themed days going on, like What’s Playing Wednesday when I post a song and my thoughts about it. I have Cajun French lesson Thursdays, and my absolute favorite, Fantasy Man Fridays! 

My website is http://danicaavet.com/ I love, absolutely adore, to hear from readers! *hint, hint* ;)  You can also find me on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/#%21/pages/Danica-Avet-Writer/108148517161 and Twitter @danicaavet

Thank you so much for giving us this opportunity to learn a little about you, Danica. It's been great to host you and to be the kick-off for your tour!













NEXT STOPS ON TOUR

 
Aug 29 - Laurie's Thoughts & Reviews (Interview/Giveaway)
Aug 30 - Babs Book Bistro (Guest Post/Excerpt)
Aug 31 - Close Encounters with the Night Kind (Review/Giveaway)
Sept 1 - Deep in the Heart Romance (Guest Post/Excerpt)
Sept 2 - Escape by Fiction (Review/Giveaway)
Sept 5 - Bea's Book Nook (Guest Post/Excerpt)
Sept 6 - Book & Movie Dimension (Review/Giveaway)

See Full Tour Schedule



CBLS Promotions, Virtual eBook Tours for AuthorsAuthors - Book Tours can give your book additional exposure and help you reach new readers.  There are several different plans from which to choose.  There are options available that are ideal for modest budgets.  To find out more, click the image.

Bloggers -  Find out how you can become a Tour Host. To find out more details, click the image.






Disclaimer: This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.   In some cases, I receive free books in return for a review. My reviews always express my own personal opinion. I am not obligated to write a glowing or even favorable review.  I have not received any monetary compensation in return for my honest review. Promotional banners and information was provided through Coffee Beans & Love Scenes Book Tours. I am an authorized Tour Host. 


THANKS FOR LOOKING!

Saturday, August 27, 2011

Candy & Cigarettes by CS DeWildt - Interview: Author Promo Spot

Candy and Cigarettes

In the face of revenge, innocence is meaningless.

Death is omnipresent to small-town loner Lloyd Bizbang. Today proves no exception. After being attacked yet again by a pair of sociopaths who have targeted him since childhood, Lloyd stumbles upon a sight he wishes he could unsee in the town junkyard. Now as he just tries to live through another day, the bodies are stacking up in the town of Horton, and Lloyd finds himself connected to each of them via the drug-and-drink-addled, unhinging police chief, yet another person who has an old score to settle with Lloyd. A game of revenge and survival is underway, but will there be a winner at the day’s end?




GIVEAWAY
Comment for a chance to win a digital copy of Candy and Cigarettes. A random commenter will win the book in their choice of format (EPUB, MOBI, or PDF). 
Giveaway ends Saturday, September 3rd 11:59 PM CST.



About the Author:
CS DeWildt lives and writes in Tucson, Arizona. He is currently working on a novel and a collection of shorts. His work has been showcased on sites like Bartleby Snopes, Word Riot, The Bicycle Review, Writer’s Bloc and Mobius Magazine.

Contact Info:
CS DeWildt



INTERVIEW
 
Tell us about a favorite character from a book.

Allie Fox is the driving force in the book “The Mosquito Coast” and is hands down the most fascinating character I’ve read.  He’s a brilliant inventor who’s fed up with life among the “funny bunnies” in the United States.  He packs up his family and sets about creating an utopia in the Honduran jungle.  Allie has the need to control everything, to dominate everyone he meets, he forces his kids to take ridiculous risks to prove they trust and love him, he claims to never need sleep, he wants to be master of the world and fix the shoddy job God did in creating it.  And while it’s never blatantly stated, he is a classic example of someone with bi-polar disorder, high for a while but destined to crash eventually.  So, repellant as he may seem, he has a magnetism that’s unavoidable, whether you’re another character in the story or the reader who’s along for the ride.

Do your friends think you are an introvert or an extravert? Why?

I guarantee if you asked them they’d say introvert because I’m known as a bit of a homebody and I come off as shy around new people, but the truth is that I’m an extrovert who’s just a little anxious.  I’m no hermit or recluse, but I do prefer staying close to home.  However, I always need that outside stimulus, whether it’s reading or movies or music or conversation.  And I love being the center of attention like any other extrovert; I just need it on my terms.  That makes me sound a bit high maintenance, doesn’t it?   Oh well, I stand by it.  And I think this facet of my personality really directed me to writing.  It’s a way to get myself out there without always having to get myself out there.

Morning Person? Or Night Person? How do you know?

It’s four AM and I’m working on answering these interview questions, so you tell me.  Truth is I’ve always been an early riser, since I was a kid.  I like that quiet time when everyone else is still asleep.  I find I’m much more productive in the morning.  The majority of Candy and Cigarettes was written between the hours of 3 AM and 6 AM and I think that’s true of almost everything I’ve written.

What books have most influenced your writing life?

Again I’ll defer to Paul Theroux’s, The Mosquito Coast, beyond being a compelling read, has great take-away lessons in character development, use of symbols, themes, and structure.  It’s your classic man vs. man vs. society vs. nature vs. machine vs. self.
The Old man and the Sea would be another.  Regarding critical analysis, Hemingway said of it, and I’ m paraphrasing: “The old man is a man, the fish is a fish.”  I think any writer or critic knows that was a damn lie, whether it was an honest lie, only Ernie knows.  Regardless, considering the state of his career when he wrote it and how the story so closely parallels facets of his writing life, even the unpredictable post-publication response to it, it just shows how important honesty is when writing a truly magnificent story.  To me, the work was a vivisection of the author.  And ideally, that’s what a good story is.
I wish I could say that reading Hemingway toughened me up, the hero code thing, but I’m still pretty soft.  In terms of writing though, I think it helps to bring a certain stoicism (either that or cry yourself to sleep thinking about the latest rejection slip), and Hemingway has been helpful in that regard.

What's your favorite genre to read?

I like anything with a dark edge, from something as prosy as Cormac McCarthy, to Big Jim Thomson, to Stephen King.  Literary fiction is often presented as a genre all its own, but I think of it more as a subgenre present within all other genres, think a typical Danielle Steele romance versus Lolita.  Talk of genre often pigeon-holes a stories unnecessarily.  They’re just stories, a character wants/wants to avoid something and is met with conflict while trying to get/avoid it.  Some work for you as a reader, some don’t.  Genre conventions are just set dressing in my opinion.

Do you hear from your readers? What kinds of questions do they ask?

Do I have any readers? Honestly, I haven’t heard from them yet, but I hope it happens.  Aside from my own selfish reasons I write to connect with readers.  I’d love to hear what a stranger thinks of my work and I’d be willing to answer any questions they had.  I think that would be an amazing experience.

Who are your books published with?

Candy and Cigarettes was published by Vagabondage Press, LLC.  They’re a small press out of Florida and I thank them in my thoughts everyday for the opportunity to get my work out there.  They believe in emerging writers and in their own words, they “hold the unique and simple belief that good writing transcends genre…(and) dislike the tendency in mainstream publishing to categorize and pigeonhole authors and their work into literary ghettos. Vagabondage Press has a commitment to providing an alternative.”

http://vagabondagebookscom.ipage.com/bookstore/

Additionally I’ve published stories in ejournals such as Bartleby Snopes, Word Riot, The Bicycle Review, Foundling Review, Mobius Magazine, and the now defunct Writers’ Bloc.

Tell us about your next release.

I’m working on another novella-novel length project.  It’s less dark than Candy and Cigarettes, more of a satire at this point, but we’ll see where it takes me.  Other than that I’m hoping the next big thing will be securing an agent.  I have a large body of work waiting to see the light of day and I’d love to find someone to help me sell it.  Literary professionals?  You listening?  Time to scoop me up while I’m still na├»ve.


GIVEAWAY
Comment for a chance to win a digital copy of Candy and Cigarettes. A random commenter will win the book in their choice of format (EPUB, MOBI, or PDF). 
Giveaway ends Saturday, September 3rd 11:59 PM CST.



Disclaimer: This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising. In some cases, I receive free books in return for a review. My reviews always express my own personal opinion. I am not obligated to write a glowing or even favorable review. I have not received any monetary compensation in return for my honest review. Promotional information was provided by the author.

THANKS FOR LOOKING!

Friday, August 26, 2011

In My Dreams by Cameo Renea - Interview & Giveaway: Nurture Tour Stop



In My Dreams

Author:  Cameo Renae
Genre: YA Fiction -  Paranormal Romance/Suspense/Thriller
Published by: CreateSpace (April 30, 2011)
Age Recommendation: YA – 15-17 years of age – for mild violence
Format: Perfect Paperback & eBook
ISBN 13: 978-1461083993
Number of pages: 248

About the book: It was happening again. The dreams. The nightmares. It was something seventeen year-old Elizabeth “Lizzy” Hayes thought she’d outgrown; dreams that would come true; detailed premonitions of how people would die. This time she dreams about her boyfriend, Michael Young, and soon discovers that he’s been found… dead. Michael hasn’t crossed over because he was murdered, and now his murderer is coming for Lizzy. His spirit won’t rest until she is safe, and as a newbie spirit, the easiest way for him to make contact is through Lizzy’s dreams. When she dreams, it’s as if he hasn’t died.

Lizzy must learn to pull on her inner strength to survive horrifying events. Meanwhile, in the spirit world, Michael learns everything he can about his supernatural gifts to help. But will it be enough to save her?









GIVEAWAY DETAILS
Comment and fill out the short entry form for a chance to win either a digital copy or a print copy of In My Dreams. Due to postage costs the print copy is being offered only to those with a US or Canadian “Ship To” address.
Giveaway ends September 3rd at 11:59 PM CST.



 
INTERVIEW

How did you start your writing career?

A few years ago, I took a writing course, and then joined an online writing community. I started writing short stories, and read and reviewed other writer’s work. I entered a few contests and actually won one! Yay! 

I found that writing was an escape, and loved the feeling I had when I was writing. I actually felt relaxed and excited as I began to create new worlds, new characters, and new adventures in my mind.  
I had a lot of wonderful feedback from fellow writers, so I thought I’d try and take on a novel, as that has always been a secret dream of mine. I didn’t have a clue on how to start, so I spent many a dreary nights doing research on the internet.

My first project was a children’s fantasy novel, which has been pushed to the side for now, but I will finish one day! That one I am especially excited about.
 
But, about two-and-a-half years ago, I had a dream. Well… it was actually a nightmare. That nightmare sparked my imagination and an idea for a supernatural YA novel. The very next day I sat at the computer and started to write. The actual dream became the first part of chapter 1 of In My Dreams.

Do you use a pen name? If so, how did you come up with it?

Cameo Renae is actually my first and middle name. Renae is also my mother’s middle name which she passed down to me. 

My husband was the one who came up with the idea to use Cameo Renae. He said it had a nice flow to it. My full name is Cameo Renae Rosete. (Rosete is actually pronounced: Rose-eh-tea, like spaghetti, which is my husband’s favorite food.) 

Where do you research for your books?

We did live in Alaska for a few years, and I have been to most of the locations in the book. The locations I didn’t know about, I found on the internet. I love modern technology! You can find answers to practically everything on the web.
 
How do you develop your plots and your characters? Do you use any set formula?

Well… I didn’t have any formula while writing In My Dreams. Because writing a novel was very new to me, I wrote like I was writing one of my short stories. I didn’t have a plan or outline. I just wrote and thank God, it all came together. 

I’ve definitely made some changes since then. I’ve learned how to outline and become more organized, especially for my upcoming novels. There’s a lot more to the plot, characters, locations, etc… and I needed to have them all organized and thoroughly described so I could remember. 

I’d hate for someone to start off with green eyes and half-way through have beautiful blue eyes! Yikes! 
 
Does travel play in the writing of your books?

Yes, I like to write about places that are familiar to me. If I’m writing about a place I’m not familiar with, I’ll hit the internet, pull up a picture, and try to describe it as best I can. 

What is the hardest part of writing your books?

The hardest part of writing is actually finding the time to write. Time is definitely not on my side these days, and with two day jobs, it’s very difficult. The second part is editing. Choosing which parts are most important, which aren’t and should be cut, things that need to be added onto, and then the dreaded punctuation! Commas are my downfall. I tend to put too many. Ugh! Going back and combing through each sentence, that part is time consuming and pretty sucky… for me. 
  
What does your significant other and family think of your writing career?

My family is definitely excited about my writing career. Most of them didn’t even know I could write! They were like… “What? You wrote a book? But… how?” 

They know my work schedule and were in awe that I actually finished a full novel! But… I’ve had great feedback from them after they’ve read it. Now they constantly ask, “How’s your next book coming along? Are you almost finished?” 
 
My kids think my first novel is pretty cool. My daughter wants me to write a follow-up to In My Dreams for specific reasons, which I cannot divulge without giving away too much of the details. 
 
As for my husband… he’s a major support.  To tell you the truth, he hasn’t read my novel. He said that he wants it to be just mine.

Because we work a lot together, we are each other’s best critic. He didn’t want to critique In My Dreams, but has been cheering for every great review. He’s also a great promoter.
 
What is the next big thing?

The next big thing… And there is a BIG change coming soon. We are making a move from Hawaii to Alaska, and in the dead of winter. 
Why? We need a change… something new… a new adventure. We’ve done and seen everything Maui has to offer times and times over. It’s become dull and dreary and honestly… boring. I want to see the seasons change, and watch the snow fall, and get in the car and drive to see different places, new wildlife (even if it can eat us). 

You can only go so far on an island. I’ve been around it once, and don’t want to do it again. They have shirts that say, “I survived the road to Hana” for a reason. Been there, done that – it’s time for a change.  Our family is excited about the move, and excited to see what the future has in store for us. 

We will be back to visit Maui from time to time because we still have a lot of family here.

And then… I have to say that the other next BIG thing is my newest novel, which should be finished soon. I am VERY excited about this one. It is a YA paranormal romance and is set to be a trilogy.

Thank you Laurie @ Laurie’s Thoughts and Reviews for inviting me!

Thanks, Cameo!! It has been fun and thanks so much for sharing more about your book and creative process.


ABOUT THE AUTHOR


Her name is Cameo Renae Rosete, but as an author, she goes by Cameo Renae (it was actually her husband’s idea). She is married to her best friend, and they have two beautiful children together (teenagers now). Her family has been her encouragement and constant support through this whole process. Oh… and her critics! In a good way though…

Apart from being an author, Cameo has two jobs: booking horseback tours into the Haleakala Crater, and working in the wedding industry in Maui. She works with coordinators on the island, who book her husband to perform their wedding ceremonies. He is a top Hawaiian officiate there on the island.

“Writing actually relaxes me. When I started In My Dreams, I never thought it would turn out the way it did. I really had no plan, and no structure. I just wrote… and it became. I’ve been perceived as a very happy, bubbly person, but this story is dark and kind of sad, which is very unlike my personality, but there are bits of humor inserted. I love watching paranormal shows, ghost stories, anything with vampires or angels, and great love stories… I guess that’s why In My Dreams came out the way it did.”

Cameo Renae is in the process of writing her next book which is the first in a new, Paranormal Trilogy.

“We’ll see what the future holds. Whatever it is… I’m up for the challenge!”

Where you can find and follow Cameo Renae:

Buy the BOOK at:






So everyone, This tour is winding down so I have listed links to all the stops below.  Be sure to check out the ones you may have missed earlier.
In My Dreams by Cameo Renae –
NURTURE Book Tour Schedule:




Disclaimer: This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.   In some cases, I receive free books in return for a review. My reviews always express my own personal opinion. I am not obligated to write a glowing or even favorable review.  I have not received any monetary compensation in return for my honest review. Promotional banners and information was provided through Nurture Book Tours. I am an authorized Tour Host. 

THANKS FOR LOOKING! 

Thursday, August 25, 2011

Paradise 21 by Aubrie Dionne - Interview & Review:Bewitching Tour Stop






Title: Paradise 21
Author: Aubrie Dionne
Genre: Sci-Fi Romance
Length: Novel
Release Date: August 2011
ePub ISBN: 978-1-937044-02-2
Mobi ISBN: Coming soon!
Print ISBN: 978-1-937044-03-9

Book Blurb

Aries has lived her entire life aboard mankind’s last hope, the New Dawn, a spaceship traveling toward a planet where humanity can begin anew—a planet that won’t be reached in Aries’ lifetime. As one of the last genetically desirable women in the universe, she must marry her designated genetic match and produce the next generation for this centuries-long voyage.

But Aries has other plans.

When her desperate escape from the New Dawn strands her on a desert planet, Aries discovers the rumors about pirates—humans who escaped Earth before its demise—are true. Handsome, genetically imperfect Striker possesses the freedom Aries envies, and the two connect on a level she never thought possible. But pursued by her match from above and hunted by the planet’s native inhabitants, Aries quickly learns her freedom will come at a hefty price.

The life of the man she loves.


My Review
5 Star
This book is unquestionably, without a doubt, my favorite Science Fiction book this year.  It began well, and by the end, I was just totally blown away.  The characters captured my imagination and tugged my heartstrings.  Each of them is distinctive and fully-fleshed, with believable history and motivations.

Aries is a beautiful woman who dares to flaunt the rules and restrictions imposed upon all the pioneers aboard the colony ship.  Regardless of consequences, she is determined to escape the confines of the huge vessel.  She has no desire to be mated to the man that was computer selected for her, nor does she want a lifetime of a computer-assigned career in a field that holds no interest. 

It was easy for me to relate to Aries.  It was easy to feel compassion for her predicament.  At the same time, though, I could understand the necessity for her to fall in line, indeed, truly, the possible survival of everyone aboard the colony ship could be in jeopardy if the group were to lose her unique and carefully selected DNA.

Aries is an intelligent, strong woman, and a fierce, cunning fighter.  She meets creatures that are unusual and exceedingly dangerous; against all odds she perseveres.  Then she encounters another human on the blistering desert planet.  Striker is a space pirate who has been marooned for five years – tricked by the woman he had loved and trusted. 

Striker and Aries share a dogged determination to survive even with the odds stacked severely against them.  I thrilled to share vicariously their many adventures.  They encountered and overcame adversity; determined to follow their own paths and, in the process, give the desperate, wretched, orphaned survivors of a barely functional space station new hope;  a chance for a future ripe with possibility.  It is almost unheard of for me to re-read a book, but honestly, with this one I may have to make a rare exception.

Reviewed by Laurie-J 


Interview

How did you start your writing career?

I’m actually a flutist. I have a degree in music performance, and I teach flute lessons for a living. I make up stories to go with the music, and my students liked my stories so much, they suggested writing them down and getting them published!
So here I am today!

Where do you dream of traveling to and why?

Lothlorien- the forest home of the elves in Lord of the Rings. It’s so beautiful, and the elves are so mysterious. I’d love to spend time with them and learn more about their culture. I bet I could learn a lot.
And
Mos Eisley- the space port on Tatooine in Star Wars. Although I’d need a body guard to travel here! I want to dance to the Cantina theme played by the alien bug guys and order a drink at the bar!

Does travel play in the writing of your books?

Oh yes, for science fiction setting is a big part of the story. The people on the New Dawn are traveling to a paradise planet that won’t be reached in their lifetime. All they do is travel their entire lives. Aries is unhappy with this arrangement and her computer assigned lifemate, so she escapes, traveling to a desert planet, where she meets a space pirate, a man descended from the people they left behind on Earth three hundred years ago.

When in the day/night do you write? How long per day?


I write a few hours a day, some in the morning, early afternoon before work, and them some late at night. I like to space it out in case I get stumped and have to come back to it. I teach flute from 3-8, so I write around my teaching schedule.

Do you have critique partners or beta readers?


Oh yes! 2 beta readers and 6 critique partners. One of my critique partners, Cherie Reich, has her own book out right now. Called Once Upon a December Nightmare, it’s a scary tale with civil war history woven in. Very cool! I’m so proud of her.

Tell us about your family.


My family is very important to me. Everyone lives within twenty minutes of each other. I’m one of four siblings, and we get together and celebrate all of our birthdays together. It’s really nice to have such a great support group. We don’t compete with one another because we are all so different and have chosen different paths in our lives. My sister just had a baby last year, and we’re celebrating his one year birthday in August.

What are your favorite TV shows?


I don’t watch much TV right now, but growing up I loved Star Trek: The Next Generation. My favorite character was Data. I always wanted him to find his humanity and live a fulfilled life.

What is your favorite meal?


I love pasta and going out to eat! (A little too much).

What group did you hang out with in high school?


Band geeks!

Do you play any sports?


Does Ballet count?

Do you have any suggestions for beginning writers? If so, what are they?


Keep writing! If one book doesn’t succeed, try again. Paradise 21 is my fourth book, and the one that secured an agent. If I’d given up on book 2 or book 3, then where would I be today?

Also, make sure you are always working on honing your craft. Read about writing, read other people’s books, and make sure you get critique partners that can help you!

Thanks for having me here today, Laurie! J



About the Author

Aubrie is an author and flutist in New England. Her stories have appeared in Mindflights, Niteblade, Silver Blade, A Fly in Amber, and several print anthologies including Skulls and Crossbones by Minddancer Press, Rise of the Necromancers, by Pill Hill Press, Nightbird Singing in the Dead of Night by Nightbird Publishing, Dragontales and Mertales by Wyvern Publications, A Yuletide Wish by Nightwolf Publications, and Aurora Rising by Aurora Wolf Publications.  Her epic fantasy is published with Wyvern Publications, and several of her ebooks are published with Lyrical Press and Gypsy Shadow Publishing. When she’s not writing, she plays in orchestras and teaches flute at Plymouth State University and a community music school.

Important Links:
Aubrie’s Books on Amazon  |  Aubrie’s Books on B&N  |  Twitter: @authoraubrie
Aubrie’s Books from Gypsy Shadow Publishing  |  Aubrie’s Books from SynergEBook
Aubrie’s Books from LyricalPress  |  Aubrie’s Books from Entangled Publishing




Next Tour Stops

August 26 Guest Blog and Review at Book Girl of Mur-y-Castell
http://books-forlife.blogspot.com
 

August 29 Seduction with Horsepower  interview and review



August 30 Review and Guest Blog



August 31 Bite Club Guest Post



Sept 1 Guest Blog


View the Full Schedule



Authors - Book Tours can give your book additional exposure and help you reach new readers.  There are several different plans from which to choose.  There are options available that are ideal for modest budgets.  To find out more, click the image.

Bloggers -  Find out how you can become a Tour Host. To find out more details, click the image.




Disclaimer: This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.   In some cases, I receive free books in return for a review. My reviews always express my own personal opinion. I am not obligated to write a glowing or even favorable review.  I have not received any monetary compensation in return for my honest review. Promotional banners and information was provided through Bewitching Book Tours. I am an authorized Tour Host.


THANKS FOR LOOKING!