Monday, October 10, 2011

Love at Absolute Zero by Christopher Meeks-Review & Giveaway: Premier Authors Virtual Tour

BLURB
Love at Absolute Zero is about Gunnar Gunderson, a 32-year-old star physicist at the University of Wisconsin. The moment he’s given tenure at the university, he can think of only one thing: finding a wife. His research falters into what happens to matter near absolute zero (−459.67 °F), but he has an instant new plan. To meet his soul mate within three days—that’s what he wants and the time he can carve out—he will use the Scientific Method. Can Gunnar survive his quest?

REVIEW
5 STARSThis book is an exceptionally entertaining read with a uniquely unlikely and surprising protagonist.  Highly recommended to anyone who has ever wanted to know what makes some relationships work so well while others seem destined to fall-apart leaving indelible scars.
I honestly was not expecting to enjoy this book as much as I did.  Once I started reading it I had a hard time putting it down when it came time to cook dinner or take care of some other household chore.  Gunnar Gunderson is a brilliant, geeky professor who just made tenure. He is a physicist almost totally wrapped up in his current research project.  However, he is lonely and feels that his life is incomplete.  Gunnar decides that he will find a woman perfect for him and in order to do so he will apply the scientific principle to his search.  He has three days. Thus, the adventure begins.

In an effort to make himself more attractive he makes a series of bad decisions the results of which are hysterical in the short term.  Socially inept, still, I admired his determination and fortitude as he attempted two sessions of speed dating.  His experience there was laugh out-loud funny; yet, still I yearned for him to succeed, to somehow beat the odds. As his journey continued, Gunnar threw himself whole-heartedly into his quest. He learned some tough life lessons but even in his darkest hours he somehow held onto his basic optimism.  He turned personal heartbreak and adversity into a last-minute object lesson at a scientific conference.  I thought Gunnar was adorable in a totally clueless kind of way.



GIVEAWAY
Comment for a chance to win a copy of Love At Absolute Zero. One winner will be randomly selected using Random.com. US/CAN winner may select either a PRINT copy or an ebook. All others are eligible for the ebook version. This giveaway ends Oct 22 11:59 PM CST.



INTERVIEW

See my Interview with Christopher Meeks HERE.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Christopher Meeks began as a playwright and has had three plays produced. Who Lives? A Drama is published. His short stories have been published in Rosebud, The Clackamas Literary Review, The Santa Barbara Review, The Southern California Anthology, The Gander Review, and other journals and are available in two collections, The Middle-Aged Man and the Sea and Months and Seasons. He has two novels: The Brightest Moon of the Century, a story that Marc Schuster of Small Press Reviews describes as "a great and truly humane novel in the tradition of Charles Dickens and John Irving," and his new comic novel, Love At Absolute Zero.

NEXT STOPS ON TOUR


 
    Oct. 10 & Oct. 11   Gabriel Reads  
                             
         Oct. 11 & Oct. 12   Dan's Journal 




THANKS FOR LOOKING!

10 comments:

Yto said...

i hope the book is funny, because it really has a lot of potential for humour with such a plot ^^

witchvela at web dot de

Laurie said...

Hi Yto, It is! I thought it was very funny in places but it was also a little sad at times, too.

Pabkins said...

Thats nice that you liked it more than you expected. Course I find it hard to read a book unless I'm excited about it. Otherwise it could end up waiting and waiting if I'm not in the right mood.
Pabkins @ Mission to Read

leeswammes said...

Thanks for the giveaway - I'd love to win an ebook of this (I'm from the Netherlands).

JHS. said...

Count me in!

JHS
Colloquium

jhsmail at comcast dot net

kswederski said...

I liked your review - sounds like a great book.

Thanks!

kayswederski@yahoo.com

Melanie_McCullough said...

Wow, what a unique book. I can't wait to read it!

Melanie.M.McCullough@gmail.com

Linda Kish said...

This sounds like a very interesting story. One that I would love to read.

lkish77123 at gmail dot com

Suz said...

Thanks for this amazing giveaway! This sounds like a great book and I would love to win!

susanw28 (at) mindspring (dot) com

Laurie said...

The giveaway winner has been selected!! Congrats to Linda Kish!! :)