Wednesday, October 12, 2011

The Devil's Hand by ME Patterson-Review: PUYB Tour Stop

About Devil’s Hand:

A Las Vegas poker ace with supernatural luck is swept into a world-ending conflict between fallen angels and otherworldly shades, in a thrilling debut novel for readers who enjoy Dean Koontz, Jim Butcher, and Tim Powers.
The lone survivor of a tragic plane crash, Trent Hawkins inherited a mysterious lucky streak that made him famous, and hated, in the poker circles of the City of Sin. It wasn’t long before the eyes in the sky threw him on the blacklist and chased him out of town. Now, after years away, Trent returns to Las Vegas, and walks right back into trouble.
As a serial kidnapper terrorizes the city, Trent and his wife, Susan, rescue a strange, thirteen year-old girl, only to find themselves caught in a fallen angel’s plot to cleanse Las Vegas with an unholy blizzard.
As the neon dims and the city freezes, Trent is forced to make terrible sacrifices in order to protect his new charge, and learns dark truths about himself and the creatures plotting against mankind. Poker-playing demons, fallen angels, and otherworldly shades all vie to enlist his strange luck, and Trent must choose his role in the coming War, or watch our world fall to ruin beneath a blanket of shadow and ice.

3.5 Stars

Blacklisted some time ago in Las Vegas due to his inexplicable luck with cards, Trent Hawkins is returning to Sin City because his wife Susan accepted a new job there.  Trent is not thrilled about returning to the scene of his disgrace, but he dearly loves Susan, who has been his anchor through all his troubles.

Upon their arrival, however, strange events begin unfolding. Susan and Trent get caught up in a maelstrom of supernatural origins.  Soon a rainy deluge turns to ice then the ice storm becomes an unnatural blizzard.  The entire metropolis is paralyzed as the freakish storm descends and power is lost.  Hellish creatures are lose in the city.  Trent learns that he is the key to a long-awaited prophecy.  He and an adolescent girl, Celia, find themselves at the center, balanced on the cusp of an abyss that may become the ruination of mankind.

I loved the setting. Las Vegas came to life for me; pictured as a spoiled debutante in a tawdry party-dress in my minds-eye.  I could hear the howling gale and feel the icy blowing snow, whipped to a roaring cacophony by unholy denizens of the netherworld.  I was less enthralled with the religious slant and the novel history lesson regarding the inception of evil in heaven and upon the earth.  Nor did I particularly care for the way in which a essentially omni-absent God was portrayed.  Trent and Celia, however, are characters I came to care deeply for. Likable, fearless when it counts, they persevere through both adversity and terrible temptation. This book is liberally populated with a myriad of characters, few of whom are easily categorized.  Hidden agendas and unlikely partnerships abound in this imaginative tale about the deadly and on-going struggle for dominion in a world obsessed with wealth, power, and greed.  Some additional line editing would be beneficial as I would be momentarily jarred out of my story-zone when encountering some misused words that spell-checking programs always miss.  Still, I am certainly looking forward to the next adventure in the epic struggle.  This debut author, with his skillful pen, unique mythos, and non-conventional world-building is one to watch.

Reviewed by Laurie-J


Read the Guest Post HERE.



M. E. Patterson is an author of sci-fi, fantasy, horror, and thrillers, as well as an information technologist. He received an English/Fiction Writing degree from Virginia Tech, where he studied under nationally-recognized writers and poets. He has published short stories on RevolutionSF and his first manuscript for his book, Devil’s Hand, placed in the top five in the Writers’ League of Texas Manuscript Contest.

You can visit his website at  or his blog. Connect with him on Twitter or Facebook.


Thursday, October 13
Interviewed at Blogcritics
Friday, October 14
Book spotlighted at Book Marketing Buzz

Disclaimer: This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.   In some cases, I receive free books in return for a review. My reviews always express my own personal opinion. I am not obligated to write a glowing or even favorable review.  I have not received any monetary compensation in return for my honest review. Promotional banners and information was provided through Pump Up Your Book Virtual Tours. I am an authorized Tour Host. 


No comments: